30/03/2020 | Primary

BT Pension Scheme appoints three new Trustees

The BT Pension Scheme (BTPS or the Scheme) has announced three new appointments to its Trustee Board.

Emily Clark, Nigel Cotgrove and David Viles will join the Trustee Board from 1 April 2020 replacing Billy McClory, Jim McInally and John Wroe who are retiring at the end of March.

BTPS is the UK’s largest private sector pension scheme with over £50bn of assets and c. 300,000 members. Each year, the Scheme pays out c.£2.5bn in pension payments to the 200,000 members of the Scheme who are retired and their beneficiaries.

Emily Clark has been the Chief Economist of BT Group since 2016. Prior to joining BT, Emily was a Director at a City law firm providing economic advice and analysis on a range of competition matters particularly to clients in the technology, media, telecom and financial sectors.

Nigel Cotgrove is a National Officer of the Communication Workers Union and was the CWU’s lead officer on all BT pension issues between 1999 and 2019.

David Viles joined BT in 2018 as Director of Risk, Compliance and Assurance. Prior to joining BT, David was a senior advisor in the risk management practice at Deloitte.

Commenting on the appointments, Otto Thoresen, Chair, BT Pension Scheme said: “I’d like to warmly welcome Emily, Nigel and David to the Trustee Board. Their depth of knowledge and broad expertise will be invaluable as we continue to improve the service we provide to members whilst navigating the complex challenges facing the Scheme.

“My thanks to Billy, Jim and John for their many years of dedicated service and expert counsel.”