21/11/2023 |

Succession of the Chair of the BT Pension Scheme Trustee

BT Group has appointed Jill Mackenzie as Trustee Chair of the BTPS, effective from 30th November 2023.

Jill’s appointment follows the announcement in May this year that Otto Thoresen intended to step down from his position as Trustee Chair following the conclusion of the BTPS 2023 triennial valuation. Since that announcement, Jill has spent the past six months on the BTPS Trustee Board and shadowing Otto to ensure a seamless handover.

As Jill takes on the BTPS Trustee Chair role, Professor Andrew Clare has been appointed to the BTPS Trustee Board.

Andrew is Professor of Asset Management at Bayes Business School (formerly Cass). He joins the BTPS Trustee Board with a strong track record in investment focussed trustee and non-executive director roles. He has published extensively in both academic and practitioner journals on a wide range of economic and financial market issues.

Simon Lowth, Chief Financial Officer of BT Group, and Director of the BTPS Trustee, said: “Although we say goodbye to Otto and thank him for his leadership during this period of change, we are looking forward to working with Jill through the next chapter.”

“We are also delighted to strengthen the board further by welcoming Andrew.”

Commenting on her appointment, Jill Mackenzie said: “In these first months since my appointment, I have witnessed the dedication with which the Trustees discharge their duties to the Scheme and its members. Otto is handing over a robust governance framework and a collaborative and supportive boardroom culture both of which stand us in good stead for the future.”

Outgoing Trustee Chair, Otto Thoresen added: “It has been a privilege to chair the BTPS Trustee Board and I am grateful to colleagues on the Board, both past and present, for the excellent support they have provided both to me and the Scheme during my time as Chair. I wish the Board and the Scheme’s members the best for the future.”